I Think Therefore I Am, But I Don’t Have The Words For It

by horngyih

Do we think in words? If we do what did we think before we were taught words to think with? If this is so, does the complexity of our thoughts increase with an increased vocabulary.

As we learn more words we learn to manifest thought with ever more subtle nuances – does this make our thoughts ‘better’ more ‘beautiful’. Then a beautiful mind is simply one with more words to describe it’s thoughts? With limited vocabulary we say “I am happy” and even more so “I am very happy” – two states of happiness, but with increased vocabulary we can say “I am happy”, “I am joyful”, “I am elated”, “I am ecstatic”, “I am thrilled”, “I am cheerful” – so many shades of happiness to best express that state of happiness you are feeling. So does increased vocabulary make our thoughts better in that we can more accurately describe a thought.

What about what we feel? Are they thoughts or a different species altogether? We often find it difficult to express exactly how we feel in words, does that mean we don’t think it or it just escapes our mode of manifesting that feeling? Or perhaps it is this incessant need to express our thoughts – to manifest real the feelings we experience, that drives human beings to create, to express, art. Art is perhaps an older artifact that humans use to express our thoughts, our feelings – composer compose the crystallization of their feelings, the musicians makes real the ethereal emotions into vibrating air particles, dancers design and effect their emotions into movements puppeted by their own bodies, photographers grab the light of the moment in the hopes to capture all of that moment in an attempt to trap the feelings of that moment.

Has increased literacy overshadowed the older art of manifesting thought through expression of none literate means?